About the Transition Plan

Change is already happening across Gippsland in key sectors, including energy, forestry and agriculture.

The Latrobe Valley Authority (LVA) was asked by the Victorian Government to work with the people of Gippsland to develop a plan that sets out a shared and long-term vision for the region as it undergoes this change.

Following twelve months of extensive engagement with Traditional Owners, local industry, business networks, local governments, peak organisations, unions, community organisations and locals, the Latrobe Valley and Gippsland Transition Plan was completed in July 2023.

Access the Latrobe Valley and Gippsland Transition Plan.

What is the Transition Plan?

Gippsland 2035 is our plan for the future.

The plan explains how we can make Gippsland an even better place for people to live, work, and visit.

It explains what is important for the future. It has ideas about how industries, services, government, and communities can work together for Gippsland.

It talks about:

  • our goals for Gippsland
  • what we can do to reach these goals.

Why do we need a Plan?

Things are changing in our region.

We need this plan to make sure that as this change happens, people are treated fairly and that we look after our communities, our places and our environment.

This includes things like how we:

  • look after each other
  • learn
  • work
  • access services
  • use spaces
  • move around
  • look after the environment
  • support businesses and employers.

What is in the Plan?

The Latrobe Valley Authority has listened to the community to find out what should be in the plan.

People said they want a plan where everyone is included in opportunities, both now and in the future.

They also said they want a plan that has ideas about how we can make Gippsland a place where:

  • We respect First Peoples.
  • People live healthy, active and good lives.
  • People get a good education and find good jobs.
  • People have safe, secure and affordable housing.
  • People can take part in sport, recreation, music, art and cultural activities.
  • Everyone is included and treated with respect.
  • We grow our economy and keep and create jobs in Gippsland.
  • We have great public spaces for people to enjoy and share in safe ways.
  • We protect the environment and the special places in Gippsland like our beaches, forests, and rivers, and we look after the animals and plants that live there.
  • We make energy in ways that do not harm the environment.
  • Businesses can grow and help our economy.
  • Visitors feel welcome and want to come back.
  • It is easy to use public transport to get around Gippsland.
  • We find new and creative ways to do things.
  • People understand the changes and are positive about the future.
  • We work together as a team.

What happens next?

The plan is finished and now we can get on with making it happen.

Our communities, government, and businesses in the region will work together to carry out the plan and make sure we look after our region as it continues to change.

We will also keep track of how the plan is working and make changes to it if people tell us important things that should be added or changed.

Project Partners

A Latrobe Valley and Gippsland Transition Plan Project Control Group was established to provide strategic direction for the plan.​

The Project Control Group is supported by an Implementation Working Group. The Implementation Working Group provides expertise and advice on actions and assists with coordination and engagement with stakeholders to support development of the transition plan. ​

Membership of the Implementation Working Group consists of representatives from Traditional Owners, a range of sectors such as business and industry, community services and health, education and employment, as well as non-government organisations, unions, local councils and government agencies.​

Project Control Group

  • Chris Buckingham – Latrobe Valley Authority, Chief Executive Officer
  • Cr Mark Reeves – One Gippsland
  • Sara Rhodes-Ward – Regional Development Victoria, Regional Director Gippsland
  • Steven Piasente – Latrobe City Council, Chief Executive Officer
  • Therese Tierney – Gippsland Regional Partnership, Chair.

Implementation Working Group

  • Chris Buckingham - Latrobe Valley Authority
  • Andrew O’Loughlin - Federation University
  • Craig Bosch – Australian Paper
  • Daniel Mainville – Loy Yang B
  • Daniel Miller – Gunaikurnai Land and Waters Aboriginal Corporation
  • Daniel Poynton – GippSport
  • Danny McDonald – Gippsland Water
  • Darren McCubbin – Gippsland Climate Change Network
  • David Burt – Energy Australia
  • Dr. Jennifer Brereton/Rosemary Joiner – Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority
  • Elise Erwin – Regional Development Victoria Gippsland
  • Erin Coldham – Star of the South
  • Farhat Firdous – Victorian Skills Authority
  • Hayley Sestokas – Environment Victoria
  • Jane Anderson – Latrobe Health Advocate
  • Jenny Bailey – East Gippsland Shire
  • Jules Cole – Latrobe Valley Authority
  • Katrina Langdon – Star of the South
  • Laura Macpherson – TAFE Gippsland
  • Laura Melville – Environment Victoria
  • Leah Torly – Latrobe Valley Authority
  • Leigh Kennedy - Federation University
  • Lesia Clark – Gippsland Forestry Hub
  • Lisa Gooding – Energy Australia
  • Lisa Price – Baw Baw Latrobe LLEN
  • Lorisse Dart – AGL
  • Marcus Leong - State Electricity Commission Implementation Office
  • Mark Reeves – One Gippsland
  • Martin Fuller – West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority
  • Michelle Dowsett – Regional Development Australia Gippsland Committee
  • Melissa Langstaff – Baw Baw Shire
  • Nicola Pero – Food & Fibre Gippsland
  • Peter Ceeney – Latrobe City Business Chamber
  • Peter Mooney – ETU
  • Phil Jones – Latrobe Valley Authority
  • Raelene Hanratty – RDA Gippsland
  • Renee Kurowski – AusNet Services
  • Sandy Hegarty – Latrobe Youth Space
  • Sarah Cumming – Gippsland Water
  • Sharon Raguse – East Gippsland Shire
  • Simon Aquilina – Gippsland Water
  • Steve Dodd – AMWU
  • Tanya Rong – Latrobe Health Assembly
  • Terry Robinson – Destination Gippsland
  • Tim Ellis – Latrobe City Council
  • Tony Cantwell – Committee for Gippsland
  • Wendy Farmer – Voices of the Valley.

Would you like to know more?

If you have any questions about the plan, please let us know by emailing